Aberdeen 3 - 1 Dundee Utd

(After extra time)
Mitchell Trophy - Final 2nd Leg
Saturday, May 23rd, 1942, 7:00 PM at Pittodrie
Attendance: 10,000
Referee: Mr R Calder (Rutherglen)
Aberdeen Dundee Utd

Stan Williams (31)
Jock Pattillo (59)
Alex Gourlay (91)
Laurie Nevins (41)

Team Managers
Dave Halliday Jimmy Allan

Starting Eleven
George Johnstone
Willie Cooper
Jack Howe
Frank Dunlop
Charlie Gavin
George Taylor
Jock Pattillo
Alex Gourlay
Arthur Milne
Stan Williams
Alex Dyer
Chic Brownlee
Eric Sibley
Willie Fordyce
Bert Adamson
Alec Low
Jimmy Melville
Bobby Gardiner
Laurie Nevins
Bob Glassey
Albert Juliussen
David S Low

Aberdeen won the North-Eastern League Cup by defeating Dundee United by three goals to one after extra time in the second of the home-and-home finals at Pittodrie on Saturday. The result gave them an aggregate of six goals against United's five.

It was a thrilling game, witnesses by a crowd of over 10,000. Aberdeen, who started a goal to arrears wiped off the deficit through a goal by Stan Williams. Just on the interval Laurie Nevins netted for Dundee United.

Jock Pattillo scored for Aberdeen in the second period so that the teams were level with an aggregate of five goals each at the end of 90 minutes play. Alex Gourlay got the deciding goal for Aberdeen directly after the start of extra time.

Chic Brownlie, the Dundee United goalkeeper gave an outstanding display. Gourlay and Hows were top in a clever Aberdeen side. The first trophy for which the teams contested was presented to the North East League earlier in the afternoon by Me William Mitchell, chairman of Aberdeen FC.

Extract from The Glasgow Herald, May 25th, 1942

<< Previous Match Next Match >>