Arbroath 0 - 3 Dundee Utd

Forfarshire Cup - 76/77 Final
Thursday, July 30th, 1981, 7:00 PM at Gayfield Park
Attendance: 1,420
Arbroath Dundee Utd

None. Paul Sturrock 
John Reilly 
John Reilly 

Team Managers
Ian Stewart Jim McLean

Starting Eleven
Dave Robertson
Stewart Forsyth
Jim Casey
David Young
Billy Gavine
Ian Harley
Lindsay Kydd
Doug Robb
Graham Shaw
Doug Lees
Hamish McAlpine
Frank Kopel
Derek Stark
Dave Narey
John Holt
Iain Phillip
John Reilly
Ralph Milne
Derek Addison
Billy Kirkwood
Paul Sturrock

David Durno
Tommy Yule
Eamonn Bannon
Davie Dodds

David Durno for Graham Shaw
Tommy Yule for Doug Lees
Eamonn Bannon for John Holt
Davie Dodds for Derek Addison (75)

A brave Arbroath side went down fighting in the final of the delayed 1978 Forfarshire Cup final at Gayfield Park. United stamped their authority on the match in which the Red Lichties were unable to handle the class of Ralph Milne and Paul Sturrock. United took the lead in 33 minutes with a brilliant goal from Paul Sturrock who slammed home after a good run and cross by Ralph Milne. Arbroath squandered a great chance for Gavine in the 37th minute to draw Arbroath level and their confidence seemed to go with this chance. United continued to attack the Arbroath goal but were unable to breach the Arbroath goal again before half time.

Within a minute if the restart United got the killer 2nd goal when John Reilly was left with the simplest of tasks of knocking the ball home after a Sturrock cross was flicked on by Milne. United brought on John Holt to replace Eamonn Bannon in the 58th minute. Sturrock was causing all sorts of problems to the Arbroath defence and was he who set up the 3rd. He made a run to the bye line and crossed to John Reilly who slammed the ball home from close range. Derek Addison replaced Davie Dodds late on but there was to be no further scoring.

<< Previous Match Next Match >>